My Magic Water Bottle

I am horrible about water bottles. I get hooked on a cute bottle. I go crazy carrying it everywhere. For about two weeks I am practically bouncing like a water balloon from all the consumption of fluids… I am just as bad with drink cups and thermos type cups. Even though I really don’t consume hot drinks. I am a no coffee zone. So occasionally a special tea or hot cocoa.

Well the magic water bottle of the week is this little 16 ounce bottle I caught sight of by accident at WalMart the other day. It is pink transluscent and said Reach for the Stars. Starts are kind of my thing. Really anything night related. I love the moon and starts. Yup… It was only 88 cents. So needless to say it is my newest addition to my collection that will probably be lost in a month. Most likely to be lost in the back seat of my car. But I am trying for now. It inspires me. It is nothing special yet totally awesome at the same time. Not even a week in and the letters are starting to scratch off.

I’ve ready blogs and articles that all say having the right bottle can make a difference. If you have an emotional attachment to your water bottle you are more likely to use it. I believe it is true to a point. Except for us really lazy folks.

I dehydrate easily, so one would think I would be better at getting my fluids. I’m not. But I try. I used to be really good. I would track it all on my Spark People logs. Spark People is kind of like Weight Watchers but only better in my opinion. Its free and full of amazing resources and support groups. Only when I lost home internet I found it too difficult to keep up with the subpar app. But the website is amazeballs.

I found a pretty cool app, I think it used to be called Where’s My Water. But now is called something Water Drink Reminder. I love the visual just tap the size of drink and go. I customize so my little 16 ounce bottle is there. I turned off the reminders because I work nights and even selecting my sleep schedule it warned me there would be notifications during those hours. I like that it factors in your weight and activity level in your needed water intake.  I guess I need 112 ounces a lazy day. And if it is hot or I am active then I can tick those boxes and it will add how much more I need. I didn’t even know bigger people needed more water. I guess it should have been a no brainer.

There are dozens of water apps and many fitness food trackers also have them, so I’m not trying to sell this one. I just think it is cool for my needs. I was inspired by a cheap little water bottle to try to work on at least one part of my health, my daily hydration. And since the bottle is only 16 ounces, it is small enough I am not feeling overwhelmed to be constantly chugging down fluids. I count any calorie free drink, like Crystal Light or Sparkling Ice. Not straight up calorie free soda though, like Coke Zero. And of course water, that counts as a no brainer. I can say just since I started typing this I have already finished half of the bottle. YAY. Except now I have to pee… I suspect I will be reminded often with the new increased fluid intake that I have the bladder of a toddler. Better not plan on any road trips for the next week as I adjust. Now perhaps we should plan a check in lets say a month from now and show my progress of keeping hydrated. Can I count on ya’ll to hold me accountable? I know I am still just a new blog, but I hope I can build up a little following that will interact and encourage me through my ramblings and various posts.

Love, Holly

Leave a Reply

