My Autism Awareness Thoughts 

It seems Autism Awareness Month has already lost its momentum. I live Autism every day. My son is at one end of the Spectrum and I have friends whose children are at the opposite end and several along the middle. And all of our children are wonderful worthy individuals no matter what society rules of normal is. 

I don’t support Autism Speaks because their employees are getting rich off spouting statistics from families like ours. And then do really very little to help. 

If you really want to make a difference, teach your children about it. Educate them so they don’t grow up to be bullies or look the other way when our kids are picked on for being weird. Teach them to include everyone. Believe me this makes way more difference than some of these charities that pay their ranking employees more than what goes to research and awareness. 

If you want to donate look for local charities that help families in need. Because Autism can get pretty spendy for struggling families. 

And now I shall climb off my soap box.

Leave a Reply

